FIVE BUDDHIST POEMS

FIVE SHORT POEMS

 

 

A FEAR OF FLOWERS

 

Beneath another bright blue sky

So high

Hedges and hills, I turned away from

For all my life, I had feared wild flowers

Plastic is so safe

Yet one day I could not escape

A nearby cherry tree exploded

The speeding petal did not pierce my skin

It was soft

 

 

 

OPEN

 

Close your eyes

Open your eyes

Open…

 

 

IMAGINING

 

When I was a swift, I made love in the blue sky

When I was a grey seal, I made love in the sea

When I was a human,

I dreamt I was a swift

I imagined I was a grey seal

 

 

WHILE SLEEPING

 

Even while I slept

The earth turned just enough

To bring to me the morning

 

 

USING EYES

 

Watching from the Bus

I see the child in a passing car

Wondering what I think

I am wondering what she thinks

And to my reader,

Greetings

 

 

2 comments

  1. Jean Rafferty · September 17, 2019

    These are beautiful, Ashby. My favourite is Imagining. But they’re all great.How are you now? Are you back at work? I’m down in Northumberland doing the preparations for a new course I’m running next week. We had a drink in an open air cafe watching a pair of seals swim in the river last night. Gorgeous! Jxxx

    Jean RaffertyTel. 0141-613-2669 Mobile: 07881-304-729. Foul Deeds Will Rise, Wild Wolf Publishing http://www.jeanrafferty.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • multivoicepoetry · September 19, 2019

      Hi Jean, Thanks for the nice words. First poems I have written in six months i.e. since I broke my leg. Glad we both enjoy nature. Good luck with the course. I am back at work. Ashby xxx

      Like

Leave a comment